Think Brick Awards 2015


The 2015 Think Brick Awards were announced in a gala presentation at Crown Palladian on 13 August. From a record number of entries in 2015, 26 were recognized across five categories.

The winners in 2015, ranging from a university building to a children’s charity centre have imaginatively and innovatively explored one of the world’s oldest building materials and challenged preconceived ideas about brick construction, concrete masonry and roof tiles.

Each category winner received a $10,000 cash prize, making the Think Brick Awards one of the richest design prizes in Australia. The Grand Prix winner also received a trip for two to the 2016 Venice Architecture Biennale.

The winners are:

Act for Kids Child and Family Centre of Excellence by m3architecture. Image:  Peter Bennetts

Grand Prix winner and Kevin Borland Masonry Award winner

Act for Kids Child and Family Centre of Excellence, Townsville (Qld) – m3architecture

Kevin Borland Masonry Award finalists

Concrete House (WA) – Fringe Architects

Local House (Vic) – MAKE architecture

Wylde Street (NSW) – SJB Architects

Lagoon House (Tas) – Taylor and Hinds Architects

Dr Chau Chak Wing Building by Gehry Partners (Design Architect) and Daryl Jackson Robin Dyke (Executive Architects). Image:  Jacqui Dean
Bunbury Catholic College – Mercy Campus by CODA Studio and Broderick Architects. Image:  Peter Bennetts

Horbury Hunt Commercial Award – joint winners

Dr Chau Chak Wing Building (NSW) – Gehry Partners (Design Architect) and Daryl Jackson Robin Dyke (Executive Architects)

Bunbury Catholic College – Mercy Campus (WA) – CODA Studio and Broderick Architects

Horbury Hunt Commercial Award finalists

UWS Kingswood Campus Library (NSW) – Allen Jack+Cottier

Penleigh and Essendon Grammar Middle Girls School (Vic) – McBride Charles Ryan

Dayboro Kindergarten (Qld) – Reddog Architects

Platform Apartments, Carriageworks Way, Eveleigh – Architectus

Hello House by OOF! Architecture. Image:  Nic Granleese

Horbury Hunt Residential Award winner

Hello House (Vic) – OOF! Architecture

Horbury Hunt Residential Award finalists

McIlwrick Street Residence, Windsor (Vic) – B.E Architecture

Courtyard House (NSW) – Aileen Sage Architects

Wedge House (Vic) – Inglis Architects

Lake Wendouree House (Vic) – John Wardle Architects

Camino House by Bosske. Image:  Peter Bennetts

Roof Tiling Excellence Award winner

Camino House (WA) – Bosske

Roof Tiling Excellence Award finalists

Huntingdale Golf Club (Vic) – Inarc Architects

Roseville Avenue (NSW) – Studio GA

Ballarat House (Vic) – H2O Architects

Nedlands Residence (NSW) – Roger Cuperus Design & Drafting

Langtree Mall Mildura by Hansen Partnership. Image:  Andrew Lloyd

Bruce Mackenzie Landscape Award winner

Langtree Mall Mildura (Vic) – Hansen Partnership

Bruce Mackenzie Landscape Award finalists

West End Cottage (Qld) – Vokes and Peters (with Owen and Vokes and Peters)

Richmond Terrace (Vic) – Hansen Partnership

Dandenong Civic Centre (Vic) – Rush\Wright Associates

Casba (NSW) – SJB Architects + Billard Leece Partnership

On the jury were: Jayson Blight (COX Architecture, QLD), Clare Cousins (Clare Cousins Architects, VIC), Anupama Kundoo (Anupama Kundoo, Spain/India), Cameron Bruhn (Architecture Media) and Elizabeth McIntyre (Think Brick).