2015 Houses Awards shortlist


The Houses Awards celebrates Australia’s best residential projects in nine categories. Now in its fifth year, the program has become one of the country’s most sought-after accolades, with 329 houses submitted in 2015 – an increase of 26% from the previous year.

A total of 135 projects have been shortlisted. In 2015, a new category of Emerging Architecture Practice was added to the program and got off to a flying start with a shortlist of 12 practices.

The awards will be presented in Melbourne at the National Gallery of Victoria, following the inaugural Housing Futures conference, on Friday 31 July, 2015. Each category winner will receive a $1,000 prize. The awards will culminate in the announcement of Australian House of the Year, the winner of which stands to take home $5,000.

2015 Houses Awards shortlist

New House Under 200m2
New House Over 200m2
House Alteration and Addition Under 200m2
House Alteration and Addition Over 200m2
Apartment or Unit
House in a Heritage Context
Emerging Architecture Practice

On the jury are: Stephanie Little (Chenchow Little Architects, NSW); Adrian Spence (Richards and Spence, Qld); Kerstin Thompson (Kerstin Thompson Architects, Vic); David Welsh (Welsh and Major, NSW); and Katelin Butler (editor, Houses magazine). Advice for the House in a Heritage Context category was provided by Peter Williams (Williams Boag Architects) on behalf of the Heritage Council of Victoria.

See the full image galleries for shortlisted projects here.

The Houses Awards is presented by Architecture Media and supported by Cult, Artedomus, Artemide, Blum, Fisher & Paykel, Haymes Paint, Heritage Councils of Victoria and New South Wales, Maximum, Think Brick Australia and Verosol. Special thanks to jury host SC Land.